Carrot Cake Muffins

Carrot Cake MuffinsOne of my absolute favorite things to do after a hearty sunday morning workout is just to zone out, eat some breakfast, and watch some good ol’ food network.  I usually tune in for the Pioneer Woman and then tune out when it switches to Trisha Yearwood’s cooking show.  (Not sure what it is about that show…but just not in love with it).  Until last Sunday morning where Trisha featured her carrot cake recipe.  That most definitely caught my attention.  Since I am allergic to walnuts, this isn’t a treat I can typically buy anywhere else.  And the few occasions that I have been able to find this dessert nut-free, I love it!  Especially when it features coconut and pineapple.  YUM!  So when I saw Trisha whip up her Southern delicacy and add pineapple and coconut..yup I was all about it.  The only thing that turned me off was that she used carrot puree.  Mm..not a fan.  So thus began the search for a carrot cake with pineapple & coconut…

Working off my inspiration, I decided to make my carrot cake with pineapple and coconut into muffins!  That way, they’re easier to grab and go and…personally..clean up is much easier.  The recipe edited below is the perfect amount for 12 muffins! After mixing all the dry ingredients together, make a well in the center of the mixture. {sidebar: I added an extra kick of ground cinnamon, because it’s my favorite spice in the world!  so if you’re squeamish about ground cinnamon, take it down to only 1 tsp of ground cinnamon}.  I used the back of my measurement spoon to make the well.  

  Carrot Cake       Carrot Cake1

Drop in your wet ingredients (oil, eggs, & vanilla extract) into the well.  Use your beater to mix the eggs thoroughly, and then slowly incorporate the dry ingredients by moving you blender slightly to the side so that you grab a little more of the dry ingredients every time.  Once, everything is incorporated, you should have a smooth batter like the one shown below.

Carrot Cake2            Carrot Cake3

Instead of the coconut flakes called for in the original recipe, I used Trader Joe’s Shredded Sweetened Coconut.  It’s a bit on the drier side compared to flaked coconut, but I love the way that it holds up during the baking process, so like the strips of carrot, you can see the pieces of coconut and taste it!  But if you don’t have this available, flaked coconut shreds will work perfectly just fine!  Add in your shredded coconut, carrots, and crushed pineapple.  When mixing in the remainder of the ingredient, use a wooden spoon or spoonula instead of your mixer.  This will help preserve the carrots, coconut, and pineapple, so that it doesn’t mix it into smithereens. 

Carrot Cake4     Carrot Cake5

Lastly, pour your batter into your muffin tin.  Your batter should work out so that each tin is filled up about 3/4 of the way through for 12 muffin tins.  

Carrot Cake6

No lie, I couldn’t even get a picture of the muffins coming straight out of the oven, because my husband starting eating them before I had a chance to grab my camera.  To check if the muffins are done, just use the old toothpick trick.  Stick a toothpick down the center of one of the center muffins.  If it comes out clean, it’s good to go!  If there is some batter residue, bake it for a bit longer.  These are delicious and everything I hoped for.  I especially love the fact that you can see the strips of coconut and carrot and even pineapple chunks as you eat your way through the muffin.  Be sure to store them in a covered container.  Although they can be eaten at room temperature, I love popping these bad boys into the toaster oven and heating them up a bit so the top is nice and crispy and the center is warm.  Hope you guys enjoy!

-P

Carrot Cake Muffins

  • Servings: 12 muffins
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Carrot Cake MuffinsIngredients

  • 1 Cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1-1/2 Tspns Ground Cinnamon
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Shredded Carrot (approx 1 carrot)
  • 1/2 Cup Shredded Coconut
  • 4 ounces of crushed Pineapple, drained

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Mix Flour, Baking Soda, Baking Powder, Salt, Cinnamon and Sugar.  Make a well in the center and add Oil, Eggs, and Vanilla Extract.  Mix until smooth
  3. Stir in carrots, coconut, and pineapple with a wooden spoon or spoonula.
  4. Place cupcake wrappers into the muffin tin and pour the batter into each cupcake tin equally
  5. Bake for approximately 30 minutes at 350° F.

3 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Muffins

  1. Pingback: Carrot Cake Muffins: Part Deux | from cali, with love

Leave a Reply

